We use cookies to ensure that we can give you the very best experience. To find out more about how we use cookies, please visit the cookie policy page.


Skip to content

Back to CD
400 Miles from L.A.: 1955-56 Lee Hazlewood


Barcode: 826853017626

  • Format: CD Album
  • Category: Country
  • Released: 11th October 2019

There was an error adding this product to your basket. Please try again.

Delivery to the UK only
Free UK delivery on orders over £20

Usually despatched within 24 hours
Click & Collect

Get it delivered to a store near you with FREE click and collect available on this product.

Ring & Reserve

Can't wait to get your hands on this? Ring to reserve at your local store, subject to availability: 03333 230 667

  • Description

  • Track listing

  • Product Details

  • Delivery and Returns

  • Description

    Phoenix, Arizona 1955, a twenty-five year old disc jockey and fledgling songwriter, Lee Hazlewood, is trying to break into the music industry. He takes Greyhound bus trips to Los Angeles to pitch songs, only to be rejected each time. Undeterred, Lee starts a record label called Viv Records. Running the label out of his house, Lee finds the artists, writes the songs, produces the sessions, arranges the pressings of the records and handles distribution. Recently discovered tapes in the Viv Records archive yielded an unbelievable find; the earliest known recordings of Hazlewood singing his songs. '400 Miles From L.A.: 1955-56' is a collection of previously unknown intimate recordings, never intended for release. Lee sings, plays guitar and even presses the record button on the tape machine. These are rural sketches and small town dreams, captured in an innocent time before the path ahead was clear.
  • Track listing

    Track Track name Artist Time
    Track 1 Cross Country Bus Lee Hazlewood
    Track 2 The Woman I Love Lee Hazlewood
    Track 3 Five Thousand and One Lee Hazlewood
    Track 4 Lonesome Day Lee Hazlewood
    Track 5 A Lady Called Blues Lee Hazlewood
    Track 6 Five More Miles to Folsom Lee Hazlewood
    Track 7 Fort Worth Lee Hazlewood
    Track 8 The Old Man and His Guitar Lee Hazlewood
    Track 9 Peculiar Guy Lee Hazlewood
    Track 10 Long Black Train Lee Hazlewood
    Track 11 I Guess It's Love Lee Hazlewood
    Track 12 It's an Actuality Lee Hazlewood
    Track 13 Buying On Time Lee Hazlewood
    Track 14 The Country Bus Tune Lee Hazlewood
    Track 15 Long Black Train Lee Hazlewood
    Track 16 Run Boy Run Lee Hazlewood
    Track 17 Big Joe Slade Lee Hazlewood
    Track 18 Son of a Gun Lee Hazlewood
    Track 19 Georgia Chain Gang Lee Hazlewood
    Track 20 Look at That Woman Lee Hazlewood
    Track 21 Peculiar Guy Lee Hazlewood
    Track 22 The Railroad Song Lee Hazlewood
    Track 23 Six Feet of Chain Lee Hazlewood
    Track 24 Trouble Is a Lonesome Town Lee Hazlewood
  • Product Details

    No. of discs 1 disc(s)
    Format: CD / Album
    Label Light In The Attic
  • Delivery and Returns

    When will my order arrive?

    • If the items are in stock we’ll aim to dispatch them within 24 hours of your order being placed, or the next working day if it’s a weekend or a public holiday.
    • Orders sent via our standard delivery service are usually received within two to five working days, including Saturdays. 
    • Orders sent via the Express Delivery service will be dispatched the same day if ordered by 2pm, Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays) for delivery within 2 working days, including Saturdays.
    • We will aim to dispatch pre-orders so that you receive them on the release date or as close to this as possible.

    Delivery charges

    • Free delivery is available for most items but all exceptions will be clearly highlighted.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery via the Express Delivery service and other items are available for delivery using this service for a charge.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery using Click & Collect to a UK hmv or FOPP store of your choice.
    • All delivery options and any charges that are applicable will be shown at the checkout.

    Will you tell me when my order is on its way?

    • We will email you as soon as each item is ready to be dispatched so you know when to expect them, but you can also check the status of your order in your account.
    • We don’t always ship everything together so check your dispatch email for more details - we’ll send you a dispatch email per parcel.
    • If your order contains items that are out of stock, we’ll ship the in-stock items as soon as we can and will dispatch the out of stock items as soon as we’ve received more stock in the warehouse

    Click & Collect

    • This is a free service where items are delivered to an hmv or Fopp store of your choice. 
    • We will email you when the items are ready to be collected.
    • If you have ordered several items we will email you to let you know which items have been dispatched. A further email will follow detailing the items that have arrived at your selected collection point and are ready for collection. Where possible, all items on an order will be dispatched and ready for collection together.
    • If any items are out-of-stock we will dispatch these items when more stock arrives. We will email you when these items are ready to be collected.


    • We are happy to accept returns for unwanted items, provided they are returned within 14 days of receipt, unopened, unused and in perfect condition. Please note that due to the impact of COVID-19 across the country, we have extended our returns policy and items ordered from March 2020 can be returned to us up until the end of August 2020.
    • Some exclusions apply, please visit our FAQs  for further details.