Skip to content

Ella: The Lost Berlin Tapes Ella Fitzgerald


Barcode: 602507450137

  • Format: CD Album
  • Category: Jazz
  • Released: 2nd October 2020
Click & Collect

Get it delivered to a store near you with FREE Click & Collect available on this product.

Ring & Reserve

Can't wait to get your hands on this? Ring to reserve at your local store, subject to availability: 03333 230 667

There was an error adding this product to your basket. Please try again.

Delivery to the UK only
Free UK delivery on orders over £20

Usually dispatched within 24 hours
  • Description

  • Track listing

  • Product Details

  • Delivery and Returns

  • Description

    'The Lost Berlin Tapes' were recorded - incredibly in both mono and stereo - at Berlin's Sportpalast on March 25, 1962 and finds Ella at the top of her game with a trio led by pianist Paul Smith, Wilfred Middlebrooks on bass, and Stan Levey on drums. There was just something about Berlin that brought out the best in Ella. Her unique charm, energy and skill are palpable throughout this live recording. She opens with 'Cheek To Cheek', followed by the rarer 'He's My Kind of Boy'. After her behind-the-shoulder scat-heavy salute with 'Jersey Bounce', Ella shifts to a heart-wrenching ballad of the Great American Songbook, 'Angel Eyes'. Ella also sings the Ray Charles hit 'Hallelujah, I Love Him So', singing a reprise that shows Ella's improvisational skills.
  • Track listing

    Track Track name Artist Time
    Track 1 Cheek to Cheek Ella Fitzgerald
    Track 2 He's My Kind of Boy Ella Fitzgerald
    Track 3 Cry Me a River Ella Fitzgerald
    Track 4 I Won't Dance Ella Fitzgerald
    Track 5 Someone to Watch Over Me Ella Fitzgerald
    Track 6 Jersey Bounce Ella Fitzgerald
    Track 7 Angel Eyes Ella Fitzgerald
    Track 8 Clap Hands, Here Comes Charlie Ella Fitzgerald
    Track 9 Taking a Chance On Love Ella Fitzgerald
    Track 10 C'est Magnafique Ella Fitzgerald
    Track 11 Good Morning Heartache Ella Fitzgerald
    Track 12 Hallelujah, I Love Him So Ella Fitzgerald
    Track 13 Hallelujah, I Love Him So (Reprise) Ella Fitzgerald
    Track 14 Summertime Ella Fitzgerald
    Track 15 Mr. Paganini Ella Fitzgerald
    Track 16 Mack the Knife Ella Fitzgerald
    Track 17 Wee Baby Blues Ella Fitzgerald
  • Product Details

    No. of discs 1 disc(s)
    Format: CD / Album
    Label Decca Records
  • Delivery and Returns

    When will my order arrive?

    • If the items are in stock, we’ll aim to dispatch them within 24 hours of your order being placed.  
    • Orders sent via Royal Mail 48® are usually received within two to five working days, including Saturdays. 
    • Orders sent via the Express Delivery service will be dispatched the same day if ordered by 2pm, Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays).
    • We will aim to dispatch pre-orders so that you receive them on the release date.
    • Where an item is 'Back in stock soon', we'll aim to receive more stock within a week and will dispatch any orders once the shipment has arrived.
    • Certain items can take longer to source than the estimated week, particularly during busy trading periods and may take longer to arrive at our warehouse. In this instance, we'll send weekly updates to keep you aware. 

    Delivery charges

    • Free delivery is available for most items when the order exceeds £20, but any exceptions will be clearly highlighted.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery via the Royal Mail 48® service and other items are available for delivery using this service for a charge.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery using Click & Collect to an hmv or FOPP store of your choice.
    • All delivery options and any charges that are applicable will be shown at the checkout.

    Will you tell me when my order is on its way?

    • We will email you as soon as each item is ready to be dispatched so you know when to expect them, but you can also check the status of your order in your account.
    • We don’t always ship everything together so check your dispatch email for more details - we’ll send you a dispatch email per parcel.
    • If your order contains items that are out of stock, we’ll ship the in-stock items as soon as we can and will dispatch the out-of-stock items as soon as we’ve received more stock in the warehouse.
    • For items that are dispatched using our standard service, we ask that you wait 14 days from the date of dispatch before reporting any items as undelivered.


    • We’re happy to accept returns for unwanted items, provided that they are returned within 14 days of receipt; unopened, unused, and in perfect condition.
    • Some exclusions apply, please visit our Help Centre for more details. 

Sign-up for emails

Sign-up for emails

Sign-up for emails

I'd love to hear about offers and promotions from hmv*