Skip to content

Back to CD
Fields of People: The Recordings 1968-1969 Ars Nova


Barcode: 5013929481183

  • Format: CD Album
  • Category: Rock & Pop
  • Released: 28th February 2020
Click & Collect

Get it delivered to a store near you with FREE Click & Collect available on this product.

Ring & Reserve

Can't wait to get your hands on this? Ring to reserve at your local store, subject to availability: 03333 230 667

There was an error adding this product to your basket. Please try again.

Delivery to the UK only
Free UK delivery on orders over £20

Usually dispatched within 24 hours
  • Description

  • Track listing

  • Product Details

  • Delivery and Returns

  • Description

    Ars Nova were formed in New York City in 1967 by Wyatt Day (guitar, keyboards, vocals), Jon Pierson (trombone, vocals) and Maury Baker (drums). The line-up was expanded by the addition of Jonathan Raskin (bass, backing vocals, guitar) and Giovanni Papalia (lead guitar). After spending some time rehearsing in rural Vermont, the band added Bill Folwell to their ranks on double bass and trumpet. Coming to the attention of manager Arthur Gorson (who also managed Phil Ochs and Judy Collins) the band secured an audition for Jac Holzman's Elektra label and secured a contract soon after. This two-disc set gathers together all the recordings made by Ars Nova for Elektra and Atlantic and has been newly re-mastered from the original first generation master tapes, and features an illustrated booklet with new essay.
  • Track listing

    ⠀ Disc 1

    Track Track name Artist Time
    Track 1 Pavan for My Lady (Fall, Winter, Summer and Spring) Ars Nova
    Track 2 General Clover Ends a War Ars Nova
    Track 3 Enacte: Le Messe Notre Dame Ars Nova
    Track 4 And How Am I to Know Ars Nova
    Track 5 Enacte: Dancer Ars Nova
    Track 6 Album in Your Mind Ars Nova
    Track 7 Zarathustra Ars Nova
    Track 8 Fields of People Ars Nova
    Track 9 Automatic Love Ars Nova
    Track 10 I Wrapped Her in Ribbons (After Ibiza) Ars Nova
    Track 11 Song to the City Ars Nova
    Track 12 March of the Mad Duke's Circus Ars Nova

    ⠀ Disc 2

    Track Track name Artist Time
    Track 1 Sunshine and Shadows Ars Nova
    Track 2 I Was Once Ars Nova
    Track 3 Temporary Serenade Ars Nova
    Track 4 She Promises Everything Ars Nova
    Track 5 Well, Well, Well Ars Nova
    Track 6 You Had Better Listen Ars Nova
    Track 7 Round Once Again Ars Nova
    Track 8 Walk On the Sand Ars Nova
    Track 9 Rubbish Ars Nova
    Track 10 Please Don't Go Now Ars Nova
  • Product Details

    No. of discs 2 disc(s)
    Format: CD / Remastered Album
    Label Esoteric
  • Delivery and Returns

    When will my order arrive?

    • If the items are in stock, we’ll aim to dispatch them within 24 hours of your order being placed. Due to the increased volumes of orders being received and the social distancing measures that our warehouse teams are following, there may be a slight delay with dispatching orders, and we thank you for your patience. 
    • Orders sent via Royal Mail 48® are usually received within two to five working days, including Saturdays. Due to current delays, please allow seven days for delivery.
    • Orders sent via the Royal Mail 24® service will be dispatched the same day if ordered by 2pm, Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays).
    • We will aim to dispatch pre-orders so that you receive them on the release date.
    • Where an item is 'Back in stock soon', we'll aim to receive more stock within a week and will dispatch any orders once the shipment has arrived.
    • Certain items can take longer to source than the estimated week, particularly during busy trading periods and may take longer to arrive at the warehouse. In this instance, we'll send weekly updates to keep you aware. 

    Delivery charges

    • Free delivery is available for most items when the order exceeds £20, but any exceptions will be clearly highlighted.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery via the Royal Mail 48® service and other items are available for delivery using this service for a charge.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery using Click & Collect to an hmv or FOPP store of your choice.
    • All delivery options and any charges that are applicable will be shown at the checkout.

    Will you tell me when my order is on its way?

    • We will email you as soon as each item is ready to be dispatched so you know when to expect them, but you can also check the status of your order in your account.
    • We don’t always ship everything together so check your dispatch email for more details - we’ll send you a dispatch email per parcel.
    • If your order contains items that are out of stock, we’ll ship the in-stock items as soon as we can and will dispatch the out-of-stock items as soon as we’ve received more stock in the warehouse
    • For items that are dispatched using our standard service, we ask that you wait 14 days from the date of dispatch before reporting any items as undelivered.


    • Due to current lockdown measures that are in place across the country, we have extended our returns policy and items ordered from October 2020 can be returned to us up until 30 days after our high street stores reopen.