Skip to content

Back to CD
Franz Liszt: Historical Hungarian Portraits Franz Liszt


Barcode: 747313405978

  • Format: CD Album
  • Category: Classical
  • Released: 10th January 2020
Click & Collect

Get it delivered to a store near you with FREE Click & Collect available on this product.

Ring & Reserve

Can't wait to get your hands on this? Ring to reserve at your local store, subject to availability: 03333 230 667

There was an error adding this product to your basket. Please try again.

**Back in stock soon*

Delivery to the UK only
Free UK delivery on orders over £20

Usually dispatched within 24 hours
  • Description

  • Track listing

  • Product Details

  • Delivery and Returns

  • Description

    This latest album in the 'Complete Piano Music. series of Franz Liszt is devoted to memorialising the dead. 'Historical Hungarian Portraits' dates largely from 1885 and commemorates significant figures in the country's recent past, including politicians, a poet and a musician. The mood is powerfully sombre. Liszt marked his son-in law Wagner's death with 'Am Grabe R. Wagner' (At the Grave of Richard Wagner) using a theme from 'Parsifal'. But the most intense and forward-looking of these pieces is 'Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen', a foretaste of the experimental piano writing to come.
  • Track listing

    Track Track name Artist Time
    Track 1 Szechenyi Istvan Jeno Jando
    Track 2 Eotvos Jozsef Jeno Jando
    Track 3 Vorosmarty Mihaly Jeno Jando
    Track 4 Teleki Laszlo Jeno Jando
    Track 5 Deak Ferenc Jeno Jando
    Track 6 Petofi Sandor Jeno Jando
    Track 7 Mosonyi Mihaly Jeno Jando
    Track 8 Richard Wagner - Venezia, S201 Jeno Jando
    Track 9 Am Grabe Richard Wagners, S202 Jeno Jando
    Track 10 Die Trauergondel - La Lugubre Gondola II, S200/2 Jeno Jando
    Track 11 Schlaflos! Frage Und Antwort - Nocturne, S203/R79 Jeno Jando
    Track 12 A Magyarok Istene, S543 Jeno Jando
    Track 13 Petofi Szellemenek, S195 Jeno Jando
    Track 14 Trauervorspiel Und Trauermarsch, S206 Jeno Jando
    Track 15 Mosonyi Gyaszmenete, S194 Jeno Jando
    Track 16 Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen, S179 Jeno Jando
  • Product Details

    Duration 77.5 mins
    No. of discs 1 disc(s)
    Format: CD / Album
    Label Naxos
  • Delivery and Returns

    When will my order arrive?

    • If the items are in stock, we’ll aim to dispatch them within 24 hours of your order being placed. Due to the increased volumes of orders being received and the social distancing measures that our warehouse teams are following, there may be a slight delay with dispatching orders, and we thank you for your patience. 
    • Orders sent via Royal Mail 48® are usually received within two to five working days, including Saturdays. Due to current delays, please allow seven days for delivery.
    • Orders sent via the Royal Mail 24® service will be dispatched the same day if ordered by 2pm, Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays).
    • We will aim to dispatch pre-orders so that you receive them on the release date.
    • Where an item is 'Back in stock soon', we'll aim to receive more stock within a week and will dispatch any orders once the shipment has arrived.
    • Certain items can take longer to source than the estimated week, particularly during busy trading periods and may take longer to arrive at the warehouse. In this instance, we'll send weekly updates to keep you aware. 

    Delivery charges

    • Free delivery is available for most items when the order exceeds £20, but any exceptions will be clearly highlighted.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery via the Royal Mail 48® service and other items are available for delivery using this service for a charge.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery using Click & Collect to an hmv or FOPP store of your choice.
    • All delivery options and any charges that are applicable will be shown at the checkout.

    Will you tell me when my order is on its way?

    • We will email you as soon as each item is ready to be dispatched so you know when to expect them, but you can also check the status of your order in your account.
    • We don’t always ship everything together so check your dispatch email for more details - we’ll send you a dispatch email per parcel.
    • If your order contains items that are out of stock, we’ll ship the in-stock items as soon as we can and will dispatch the out-of-stock items as soon as we’ve received more stock in the warehouse
    • For items that are dispatched using our standard service, we ask that you wait 14 days from the date of dispatch before reporting any items as undelivered.


    • Due to current lockdown measures that are in place across the country, we have extended our returns policy and items ordered from October 2020 can be returned to us up until 30 days after our high street stores reopen.

Sign-up for emails

Sign-up for emails

I'd love to hear about offers and promotions from hmv*