We use cookies to ensure that we can give you the very best experience. To find out more about how we use cookies, please visit the cookie policy page.


Skip to content

Back to CD
J.S. Bach: Cantatas for Solo Alto Johann Sebastian Bach


Barcode: 3149020940129

  • Format: CD Album
  • Category: Classical
  • Released: 27th March 2020

There was an error adding this product to your basket. Please try again.

**Back in stock soon*

Delivery to the UK only
Free UK delivery on orders over £20

Usually dispatched within 24 hours
Click & Collect

Temporarily unavailable whilst our stores are closed in line with current restrictions.

Ring & Reserve

Temporarily unavailable whilst our stores are closed in line with current restrictions.

  • Description

  • Track listing

  • Product Details

  • Delivery and Returns

  • Description

    According to German theological tradition, which Bach knew very well, the alto voice was the very symbol of that of the Holy Ghost. These three solo cantatas do not contradict the rule, although we do not always know for whom Bach wrote them. It was neither a woman nor a castrato, so it could only be a falsetto or an extremely accomplished boy. These works demand enormous vocal virtuosity. Their extraordinary musical variety embraces sublime consolatory lullabies, a faithful echo of an organ concerto ('BWV170)' and the dramatic qualities of an oratorio.
  • Track listing

    Track Track name Artist Time
    Track 1 Vergnugte Ruh, Beliebte Seelenlust! Andreas Scholl
    Track 2 Die Welt, Das Sundenhaus Andreas Scholl
    Track 3 Wie Jammern Mich Doch Die Verkehrten Herzen Andreas Scholl
    Track 4 Wer Sollte Sich Demnach Andreas Scholl
    Track 5 Mir Ekelt Mehr Zu Leben Andreas Scholl
    Track 6 Widerstehe Doch Der Sunde Andreas Scholl
    Track 7 Die Art Verruchter Sunden Andreas Scholl
    Track 8 Wer Sunde Tut, Der Ist Vom Teufel Andreas Scholl
    Track 9 Concerto Various Performers
    Track 10 Geist Und Seele Wird Verwirret Andreas Scholl
    Track 11 Ich Wundre Mich Andreas Scholl
    Track 12 Gott Hat Alles Wohlgemacht! Andreas Scholl
    Track 13 Sinfonia Various Performers
    Track 14 Ach, Starker Gott, Lass Mich Andreas Scholl
    Track 15 Ich Wunsche Nur, Bei Gott Zu Leben Andreas Scholl
  • Product Details

    Duration 59.1 mins
    No. of discs 1 disc(s)
    Format: CD / Album
    Label Harmonia Mundi
  • Delivery and Returns

    When will my order arrive?

    • If the items are in stock, we’ll aim to dispatch them within 24 hours of your order being placed. Due to the increased volumes of orders being received and the social distancing measures that our warehouse teams are following, there may be a slight delay with dispatching orders and we thank you for your patience. 
    • Orders sent via Royal Mail 48® are usually received within two to five working days, including Saturdays. Due to current delays, please allow 7 days for delivery.
    • Orders sent via the Royal Mail 24® service will be dispatched the same day if ordered by 2pm, Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays).
    • We will aim to dispatch pre-orders so that you receive them on the release date.
    **Where an item is 'Back in stock soon', we'll aim to receive more stock within a week and will dispatch any orders once the shipment has arrived.
    *Note that certain items can take longer to source  than the estimated week, particularly during busy trading periods and may take longer to arrive at the warehouse. In this instance, we'll send weekly updates to keep our customers in the know.  

    Delivery charges

    • Free delivery is available for most items when the order exceeds £20, but any exceptions will be clearly highlighted.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery via the Royal Mail 48® service and other items are available for delivery using this service for a charge.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery using Click & Collect to a UK hmv or FOPP store of your choice.
    • All delivery options and any charges that are applicable will be shown at the checkout.

    Will you tell me when my order is on its way?

    • We will email you as soon as each item is ready to be dispatched so you know when to expect them, but you can also check the status of your order in your account.
    • We don’t always ship everything together so check your dispatch email for more details - we’ll send you a dispatch email per parcel.
    • If your order contains items that are out of stock, we’ll ship the in-stock items as soon as we can and will dispatch the out of stock items as soon as we’ve received more stock in the warehouse
    • For items that are dispatched using our standard service, we ask that you wait 14 days from the date of dispatch before reporting any items as undelivered.


    • Please note that due to current isolation measures that are in place across the country, we have extended our returns policy and items ordered from October 2020 can be returned to us up until 31st January 2021.