We use cookies to ensure that we can give you the very best experience. To find out more about how we use cookies, please visit the cookie policy page.


Skip to content

Back to CD
Jose Marti En Nueva York Manuel Valera New Cuban Express Big Band


Barcode: 186980000800

  • Format: CD Album
  • Category: World Music
  • Released: 28th August 2020

There was an error adding this product to your basket. Please try again.

**Back in stock soon*

Delivery to the UK only
Free UK delivery on orders over £20

Usually dispatched within 24 hours
Click & Collect

Get it delivered to a store near you with FREE Click & Collect available on this product.

Ring & Reserve

Can't wait to get your hands on this? Ring to reserve at your local store, subject to availability: 03333 230 667

  • Description

  • Track listing

  • Product Details

  • Delivery and Returns

  • Description

    Grammy-nominated pianist and composer Manuel Valera presents the dynamic debut of his New Cuban Express Big Band. Inspired by Jose Marti, the famed Cuban writer and independence hero, 'Jose Marti en Nueva York' features Valera's song cycle of original music based on nine poems from Marti's seminal 1891 collection, 'Versos Sencillos'. Addressing a range of political and societal issues that are relevant even today, the texts are set for two unique vocalists, Sofia Rei and Camila Meza. Valera uses the broad palette of the big band to express a wide breadth of moods and emotions, touching on traditional Cuban music styles as well as modern Latin jazz to give Marti's poetry new life.
  • Track listing

    Track Track name Artist Time
    Track 1 Odio La Mascara Y El Vicio (Feat. Camila Meza, Roman Filiu & Andy Clausen) Manuel Valera New Cuban Express Big Band
    Track 2 Es Rubia, El Cabello Suelto (Feat. Sofia Rei & Alex Norris) Manuel Valera New Cuban Express Big Band
    Track 3 Por Sus Ojos Encendidos (Feat. Camila Meza, Manuel Valera, Michael Rodriguez & Roman Filiu) Manuel Valera New Cuban Express Big Band
    Track 4 Yo Quiero Salir Del Mundo/Yo Pienso Cuando Me Alegro (Feat. Camila Meza, Joel Frahm & David Smith) Manuel Valera New Cuban Express Big Band
    Track 5 El Enemigo Brutal (Feat. Sofia Rei, Ricky Rodriguez, Charles Pillow, Alex Goodman & Mauricio Herrera) Manuel Valera New Cuban Express Big Band
    Track 6 Tiene El Leopardo Un Abrigo/Cultivo Una Rosa Blanca (Feat. Sofia Rei, Matt McDonald & Michael Thomas) Manuel Valera New Cuban Express Big Band
    Track 7 Si Quiere Que De Este Mundo (Feat. Sofia Rei, Manuel Valera, Michael Rodriguez, Andrew Gutauskas & Jimmy Macbride Manuel Valera New Cuban Express Big Band
  • Product Details

    No. of discs 1 disc(s)
    Format: CD / Album Digipak
    Label Greenleaf Music
  • Delivery and Returns

    When will my order arrive?

    • If the items are in stock, we’ll aim to dispatch them within 24 hours of your order being placed. Due to the increased volumes of orders being received and the social distancing measures that our warehouse teams are following, there may be a slight delay with dispatching orders, and we thank you for your patience. 
    • Orders sent via Royal Mail 48® are usually received within two to five working days, including Saturdays. Due to current delays, please allow seven days for delivery.
    • Orders sent via the Royal Mail 24® service will be dispatched the same day if ordered by 2pm, Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays).
    • We will aim to dispatch pre-orders so that you receive them on the release date.
    • Where an item is 'Back in stock soon', we'll aim to receive more stock within a week and will dispatch any orders once the shipment has arrived.
    • Certain items can take longer to source than the estimated week, particularly during busy trading periods and may take longer to arrive at the warehouse. In this instance, we'll send weekly updates to keep you aware. 

    Delivery charges

    • Free delivery is available for most items when the order exceeds £20, but any exceptions will be clearly highlighted.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery via the Royal Mail 48® service and other items are available for delivery using this service for a charge.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery using Click & Collect to an hmv or FOPP store of your choice.
    • All delivery options and any charges that are applicable will be shown at the checkout.

    Will you tell me when my order is on its way?

    • We will email you as soon as each item is ready to be dispatched so you know when to expect them, but you can also check the status of your order in your account.
    • We don’t always ship everything together so check your dispatch email for more details - we’ll send you a dispatch email per parcel.
    • If your order contains items that are out of stock, we’ll ship the in-stock items as soon as we can and will dispatch the out-of-stock items as soon as we’ve received more stock in the warehouse
    • For items that are dispatched using our standard service, we ask that you wait 14 days from the date of dispatch before reporting any items as undelivered.


    • Due to current lockdown measures that are in place across the country, we have extended our returns policy and items ordered from October 2020 can be returned to us up until 30 days after our high street stores reopen.