Skip to content

Back to CD
Robert Kahn: Leaves from the Tree of Life: Quintet/Romanze/Lieder Robert Kahn


Barcode: 5065002149398

  • Format: CD Album
  • Category: Classical
  • Released: 12th March 2021
Click & Collect

Get it delivered to a store near you with FREE Click & Collect available on this product.

Ring & Reserve

Can't wait to get your hands on this? Ring to reserve at your local store, subject to availability: 03333 230 667

There was an error adding this product to your basket. Please try again.

Delivery to the UK only
Free UK delivery on orders over £20

Usually dispatched within 24 hours
  • Description

  • Track listing

  • Product Details

  • Delivery and Returns

  • Description

    Robert Kahn was born in Mannheim in 1865 and died in Biddenden, Kent in 1951. Kahn became an influential professor of music at the Berlin Hochschule and before that had his works performed by the Joachim Quartet and the Berlin Philharmonic under Hans von Bulow. He avoided large scale romantic forms and became famed for his songs, choral works, chamber music and the huge Tagebuch in Tonen, (Music from the Tree of Life) a collection of solo piano works, suites for piano and lieder that run to over 1100 pieces. Branded degenerate' by the National Socialists, he was thrown out of his teaching positions and, in 1937, he left for the UK, settling in Kent and composing right up to his death. This album is a fascinating introduction to a composer that political extremism and hatred tried and failed to erase.
  • Track listing

    Track Track name Artist Time
    Track 1 No. 1. Romanze Ensemble Emigre
    Track 2 ..s Ist Ein So Stiller Heil'ger Tag Ensemble Emigre
    Track 3 Novemberfeier Ensemble Emigre
    Track 4 Idyll Ensemble Emigre
    Track 5 Liebestrost Ensemble Emigre
    Track 6 No. 500 in A-flat Major 'Variations On No. 1' Ensemble Emigre
    Track 7 No. 3 in C-sharp Minor Ensemble Emigre
    Track 8 No. 4 in C-sharp Minor Ensemble Emigre
    Track 9 No. 5 in F Minor Ensemble Emigre
    Track 10 No. 53 in E Major Ensemble Emigre
    Track 11 No. 473-475. Jeanne Suite, 473a Ensemble Emigre
    Track 12 No. 473-475. Jeanne Suite, 473b Ensemble Emigre
    Track 13 No. 473-475. Jeanne Suite, 473c Ensemble Emigre
    Track 14 No. 473-475. Jeanne Suite, 474 Ensemble Emigre
    Track 15 No. 473-475. Jeanne Suite, 475 Ensemble Emigre
    Track 16 Liebesbrief Ensemble Emigre
    Track 17 Die Unke Ensemble Emigre
    Track 18 Feuerbestattung Ensemble Emigre
    Track 19 Gebet Ensemble Emigre
    Track 20 I. Allegro Non Troppo Ensemble Emigre
    Track 21 II. Presto Assai Ensemble Emigre
    Track 22 III. Andante Sostenuto Ensemble Emigre
    Track 23 IV. Allegro Agitato Ensemble Emigre
  • Product Details

    No. of discs 1 disc(s)
    Format: CD / Album
    Label Rubicon Classics
  • Delivery and Returns

    When will my order arrive?

    • If the items are in stock, we’ll aim to dispatch them within 24 hours of your order being placed. Due to the increased volumes of orders being received and the social distancing measures that our warehouse teams are following, there may be a slight delay with dispatching orders, and we thank you for your patience. 
    • Orders sent via Royal Mail 48® are usually received within two to five working days, including Saturdays. Due to current delays, please allow seven days for delivery.
    • Orders sent via the Royal Mail 24® service will be dispatched the same day if ordered by 2pm, Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays).
    • We will aim to dispatch pre-orders so that you receive them on the release date.
    • Where an item is 'Back in stock soon', we'll aim to receive more stock within a week and will dispatch any orders once the shipment has arrived.
    • Certain items can take longer to source than the estimated week, particularly during busy trading periods and may take longer to arrive at the warehouse. In this instance, we'll send weekly updates to keep you aware. 

    Delivery charges

    • Free delivery is available for most items when the order exceeds £20, but any exceptions will be clearly highlighted.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery via the Royal Mail 48® service and other items are available for delivery using this service for a charge.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery using Click & Collect to an hmv or FOPP store of your choice.
    • All delivery options and any charges that are applicable will be shown at the checkout.

    Will you tell me when my order is on its way?

    • We will email you as soon as each item is ready to be dispatched so you know when to expect them, but you can also check the status of your order in your account.
    • We don’t always ship everything together so check your dispatch email for more details - we’ll send you a dispatch email per parcel.
    • If your order contains items that are out of stock, we’ll ship the in-stock items as soon as we can and will dispatch the out-of-stock items as soon as we’ve received more stock in the warehouse
    • For items that are dispatched using our standard service, we ask that you wait 14 days from the date of dispatch before reporting any items as undelivered.


    • Due to current lockdown measures that are in place across the country, we have extended our returns policy and items ordered from October 2020 can be returned to us up until 30 days after our high street stores reopen.

Sign-up for emails

Sign-up for emails

I'd love to hear about offers and promotions from hmv*