Skip to content

What Kinda Music Tom Misch x Yussef Dayes


Barcode: 842812124273

  • Format: CD Album
  • Category: Rock & Pop
  • Released: 24th April 2020
Click & Collect

Get it delivered to a store near you with FREE Click & Collect available on this product.

Ring & Reserve

Can't wait to get your hands on this? Ring to reserve at your local store, subject to availability: 03333 230 667

There was an error adding this product to your basket. Please try again.

Delivery to the UK only
Free UK delivery on orders over £20

Usually dispatched within 24 hours
  • Description

  • Track listing

  • Product Details

  • Delivery and Returns

  • Description

    'What Kinda Music' is an astonishing collaboration between two artists of very different disciplines, and one of the most unique and seamlessly original projects of its ilk to date. Moving fluidly through sleek electronica, avant-garde jazz, vintage hip-hop and so much more, Misch and Dayes take you on a journey that is by turns surprising and spontaneous, heady and head spinning, and nothing less than compelling - a singular vision which fuses the DNA of both musicians with spectacular results, as can be seen in the title track, which comes backed by a gorgeously atmospheric video by XX. Even though the fundamental bones of this project came together very quickly, its actual provenance stretches much, much further back, with the pair not only growing up in the same area of South East London, but Misch actually seeing Dayes play on drums in the school talent show for the first time when he was roughly 8 or 9. They both kept tabs on each other - Misch becoming a fan of Dayes' act Yussef Kamaal, Dayes clocking his videos in 2014 - but it was only when they met at a launch party for Misch's debut LP 'Geography' in 2018 that the proverbial creative sparks began to fly. 'As a musician you're always looking for contemporaries who can push you and challenge you and make you better', says Dayes. 'I instantly felt that with Tom - he was such a gifted musician, and so prolific'. Throughout the record, there is an utterly joyful feel of two musicians at the top of their game sparking off one another, picking up ideas and running with them - zigging where the other zags, ebbing where the other flows, with Misch producing the majority of the record and both having a hand in the overall sound and feel of the record.
  • Track listing

    Track Track name Artist Time
    Track 1 What Kinda Music Tom Misch x Yussef Dayes
    Track 2 Festival Tom Misch x Yussef Dayes
    Track 3 Nightrider (Feat. Freddie Gibbs) Tom Misch x Yussef Dayes
    Track 4 Tidal Wave Tom Misch x Yussef Dayes
    Track 5 Sensational Tom Misch x Yussef Dayes
    Track 6 The Real Tom Misch x Yussef Dayes
    Track 7 Lift Off (Feat. Rocco Palladino) Tom Misch x Yussef Dayes
    Track 8 I Did It for You Tom Misch x Yussef Dayes
    Track 9 Last 100 Tom Misch x Yussef Dayes
    Track 10 Kyiv Tom Misch x Yussef Dayes
    Track 11 Julie Mangos Tom Misch x Yussef Dayes
    Track 12 Storm Before the Calm (Feat. Kaidi Akinnibi) Tom Misch x Yussef Dayes
  • Product Details

    No. of discs 1 disc(s)
    Format: CD / Album
    Label Blue Note
  • Delivery and Returns

    When will my order arrive?

    • If the items are in stock, we’ll aim to dispatch them within 24 hours of your order being placed.  
    • Orders sent via Royal Mail 48® are usually received within two to five working days, including Saturdays. 
    • Orders sent via the Express Delivery service will be dispatched the same day if ordered by 2pm, Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays).
    • We will aim to dispatch pre-orders so that you receive them on the release date.
    • Where an item is 'Back in stock soon', we'll aim to receive more stock within a week and will dispatch any orders once the shipment has arrived.
    • Certain items can take longer to source than the estimated week, particularly during busy trading periods and may take longer to arrive at our warehouse. In this instance, we'll send weekly updates to keep you aware. 

    Delivery charges

    • Free delivery is available for most items when the order exceeds £20, but any exceptions will be clearly highlighted.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery via the Royal Mail 48® service and other items are available for delivery using this service for a charge.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery using Click & Collect to an hmv or FOPP store of your choice.
    • All delivery options and any charges that are applicable will be shown at the checkout.

    Will you tell me when my order is on its way?

    • We will email you as soon as each item is ready to be dispatched so you know when to expect them, but you can also check the status of your order in your account.
    • We don’t always ship everything together so check your dispatch email for more details - we’ll send you a dispatch email per parcel.
    • If your order contains items that are out of stock, we’ll ship the in-stock items as soon as we can and will dispatch the out-of-stock items as soon as we’ve received more stock in the warehouse.
    • For items that are dispatched using our standard service, we ask that you wait 14 days from the date of dispatch before reporting any items as undelivered.


    • We’re happy to accept returns for unwanted items, provided that they are returned within 14 days of receipt; unopened, unused, and in perfect condition.
    • Some exclusions apply, please visit our Help Centre for more details. 

Sign-up for emails

Sign-up for emails

Sign-up for emails

I'd love to hear about offers and promotions from hmv*