Skip to content

Back to Vinyl Pre-Orders
How Long Do You Think It's Gonna Last? - Includes Free Print with hmv Exclusive Bonus Track* Big Red Machine


Released: 27th August 2021

Barcode: 656605241517

  • Format: Vinyl 12" Album
  • Category: Folk
Click & Collect

Get it delivered to a store near you with FREE Click & Collect available on this product.

Ring & Reserve

Can't wait to get your hands on this? Ring to reserve at your local store, subject to availability: 03333 230 667

There was an error adding this product to your basket. Please try again.

Released: 27th August 2021

Delivery to the UK only
Free UK delivery on orders over £20

Your order contains pre-orders Dispatched prior to release date
  • Description

  • Track listing

  • Product Details

  • Delivery and Returns

  • Description

    Includes Free 12"x12" print*. Artwork by Graham Tolbert.
    Download sticker on print reverse with hmv Exclusive bonus track - No More Knees On (feat. Isaiah Robinson and La Force) (*while stocks last)

    'How Long Do You Think It's Gonna Last?' is the the second album from Aaron Dessner's evermorphing project with Bon Iver's Justin Vernon. Musically, the album features what Dessner calls maybe the 'clearest distillation' of his varying songwriting and production styles. Songs like 'Reese' the Dessner-sung 'Magnolia' and the elegiac 'Hutch' are built on the kinds of tear-jerking piano melodies millions of fans have come to love from The National, but then move at their own pace toward unusual sonic destinations. 'Aaron's greatest gift as a collaborator is his ability to evolve and experiment with the emotional sound that is so natural to him', Vernon says of the material.
  • Track listing

    Track Track name Artist Time
    Track 1 Latter Days (Feat. Anais Mitchell) Big Red Machine
    Track 2 Reese Big Red Machine
    Track 3 Phoenix (Feat. Fleet Foxes and Anais Mitchell) Big Red Machine
    Track 4 Birch (Feat. Taylor Swift) Big Red Machine
    Track 5 Renegade (Feat. Taylor Swift) Big Red Machine
    Track 6 The Ghost of Cincinnati Big Red Machine
    Track 7 Hoping Then Big Red Machine
    Track 8 Mimi (Feat. Ilsey) Big Red Machine
    Track 9 Easy to Sabotage (Feat. Naeem) Big Red Machine
    Track 10 Hutch (My Brightest Diamond) [feat. Sharon Van Etten, Lisa Hannigan and Shara Nova] Big Red Machine
    Track 11 8:22am (Feat. La Force) Big Red Machine
    Track 12 Magnolia Big Red Machine
    Track 13 June's a River (Feat. Ben Howard and This Is the Kit) Big Red Machine
    Track 14 Brycie Big Red Machine
    Track 15 New Auburn (Feat. Anais Mitchell) Big Red Machine
  • Product Details

    No. of discs 2 disc(s)
    Format: Vinyl / 12" Album
    Label Jagjaguwar
  • Delivery and Returns

    When will my order arrive?

    • If the items are in stock, we’ll aim to dispatch them within 24 hours of your order being placed. Due to the increased volumes of orders being received and the social distancing measures that our warehouse teams are following, there may be a slight delay with dispatching orders, and we thank you for your patience. 
    • Orders sent via Royal Mail 48® are usually received within two to five working days, including Saturdays. Due to current delays, please allow seven days for delivery.
    • Orders sent via the Royal Mail 24® service will be dispatched the same day if ordered by 2pm, Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays).
    • We will aim to dispatch pre-orders so that you receive them on the release date.
    • Where an item is 'Back in stock soon', we'll aim to receive more stock within a week and will dispatch any orders once the shipment has arrived.
    • Certain items can take longer to source than the estimated week, particularly during busy trading periods and may take longer to arrive at the warehouse. In this instance, we'll send weekly updates to keep you aware. 

    Delivery charges

    • Free delivery is available for most items when the order exceeds £20, but any exceptions will be clearly highlighted.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery via the Royal Mail 48® service and other items are available for delivery using this service for a charge.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery using Click & Collect to an hmv or FOPP store of your choice.
    • All delivery options and any charges that are applicable will be shown at the checkout.

    Will you tell me when my order is on its way?

    • We will email you as soon as each item is ready to be dispatched so you know when to expect them, but you can also check the status of your order in your account.
    • We don’t always ship everything together so check your dispatch email for more details - we’ll send you a dispatch email per parcel.
    • If your order contains items that are out of stock, we’ll ship the in-stock items as soon as we can and will dispatch the out-of-stock items as soon as we’ve received more stock in the warehouse
    • For items that are dispatched using our standard service, we ask that you wait 14 days from the date of dispatch before reporting any items as undelivered.


    • Due to current lockdown measures that are in place across the country, we have extended our returns policy and items ordered from October 2020 can be returned to us up until 30 days after our high street stores reopen.

Sign-up for emails

Sign-up for emails

I'd love to hear about offers and promotions from hmv*