We use cookies to ensure that we can give you the very best experience. To find out more about how we use cookies, please visit the cookie policy page.


Skip to content

Back to Vinyl
Mag Earwhig! Guided By Voices


Barcode: 191402009613

  • Format: Vinyl 12" Album
  • Category: Rock & Pop
  • Released: 20th September 2019
Click & Collect

Get it delivered to a store near you with FREE Click & Collect available on this product.

Ring & Reserve

Can't wait to get your hands on this? Ring to reserve at your local store, subject to availability: 03333 230 667

There was an error adding this product to your basket. Please try again.

Delivery to the UK only
Free UK delivery on orders over £20

Usually dispatched within 24 hours
  • Description

  • Track listing

  • Product Details

  • Delivery and Returns

  • Description

    The first GBV album by their new lineup, which consists of leaders Robert Pollard and Tobin Sprout, backed by the entire lineup of Cobra Verde. This is a conceptual rock opera inspired by the Who's Tommy, the Pretty Things' S.F. Sorrow, Genesis' The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway, and the Edgar Broughton Band's Wasa Wasa. Pollard is the main character in this sprawling narrative, an insectile cartoon figure named the Magnificent Earwhig, who interacts with a wild cast of characters in songs evoking nostalgiac memories of an Ohio boyhood, starting one's first band, and inhaling American roadside pop culture. 'Despite the progressive conceptual '70s mindset informing this project, the record is still a collection of beautifully twisted pop songs and can be listened to as either an opera or just a series of rock arias'.
  • Track listing

    Track Track name Artist Time
    Track 1 Can't Hear The Revolution Guided By Voices 1.36
    Track 2 Sad If I Lost It Guided By Voices 3.1
    Track 3 I Am a Tree Guided By Voices 4.4
    Track 4 The Old Grunt Guided By Voices 1.28
    Track 5 Bulldog Skin Guided By Voices 2.59
    Track 6 Are You Faster? Guided By Voices 1.13
    Track 7 I Am Produced Guided By Voices 1.07
    Track 8 Knock 'Em Flyin' Guided By Voices 1.53
    Track 9 Not Behind The Fighter Jet Guided By Voices 2.13
    Track 10 Choking Tara Guided By Voices 1.24
    Track 11 Hollow Cheek Guided By Voices 0.32
    Track 12 Portable Men's Society Guided By Voices 4.17
    Track 13 Little Lines Guided By Voices 2.02
    Track 14 Learning To Hunt Guided By Voices 2.24
    Track 15 The Finest Joke Is Upon Us Guided By Voices 3.08
    Track 16 Mag Earwhig! Guided By Voices 0.4
    Track 17 Now To War Guided By Voices 2.44
    Track 18 Jane Of The Waking Universe Guided By Voices 2.26
    Track 19 The Colossus Crawls West Guided By Voices 2.14
    Track 20 Mute Superstar Guided By Voices 1.24
    Track 21 Bomb In The Bee-Hive Guided By Voices 2.03
  • Product Details

    Duration 45.3 mins
    No. of discs 2 disc(s)
    Format: Vinyl / 12" Album
    Label Rough Trade
  • Delivery and Returns

    When will my order arrive?

    • If the items are in stock, we’ll aim to dispatch them within 24 hours of your order being placed. Due to the increased volumes of orders being received and the social distancing measures that our warehouse teams are following, there may be a slight delay with dispatching orders, and we thank you for your patience. 
    • Orders sent via Royal Mail 48® are usually received within two to five working days, including Saturdays. Due to current delays, please allow seven days for delivery.
    • Orders sent via the Royal Mail 24® service will be dispatched the same day if ordered by 2pm, Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays).
    • We will aim to dispatch pre-orders so that you receive them on the release date.
    • Where an item is 'Back in stock soon', we'll aim to receive more stock within a week and will dispatch any orders once the shipment has arrived.
    • Certain items can take longer to source than the estimated week, particularly during busy trading periods and may take longer to arrive at the warehouse. In this instance, we'll send weekly updates to keep you aware. 

    Delivery charges

    • Free delivery is available for most items when the order exceeds £20, but any exceptions will be clearly highlighted.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery via the Royal Mail 48® service and other items are available for delivery using this service for a charge.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery using Click & Collect to an hmv or FOPP store of your choice.
    • All delivery options and any charges that are applicable will be shown at the checkout.

    Will you tell me when my order is on its way?

    • We will email you as soon as each item is ready to be dispatched so you know when to expect them, but you can also check the status of your order in your account.
    • We don’t always ship everything together so check your dispatch email for more details - we’ll send you a dispatch email per parcel.
    • If your order contains items that are out of stock, we’ll ship the in-stock items as soon as we can and will dispatch the out-of-stock items as soon as we’ve received more stock in the warehouse
    • For items that are dispatched using our standard service, we ask that you wait 14 days from the date of dispatch before reporting any items as undelivered.


    • Due to current lockdown measures that are in place across the country, we have extended our returns policy and items ordered from October 2020 can be returned to us up until 30 days after our high street stores reopen.