We use cookies to ensure that we can give you the very best experience. To find out more about how we use cookies, please visit the cookie policy page.


Skip to content

Back to Vinyl
New York - Addis - London: The Story of Ethio Jazz 1965-1975 Mulatu Astatke


Barcode: 730003305115

  • Format: Vinyl 12" Album
  • Category: Jazz
  • Released: 5th November 2009

There was an error adding this product to your basket. Please try again.

Delivery to the UK only
Free UK delivery on orders over £20

Usually dispatched within 24 hours
Click & Collect

Get it delivered to a store near you with FREE Click & Collect available on this product. (Temporarily excluding stores in Northern Ireland & Scotland)

Ring & Reserve

Can't wait to get your hands on this? Ring to reserve at your local store, subject to availability: 03333 230 667 ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ (Temporarily excluding stores in Northern Ireland & Scotland)

  • Description

  • Track listing

  • Product Details

  • Delivery and Returns

  • Description

    Vibraphone and keyboard player, master arranger and bandleader, Mulatu Astatke is one of the all-time greats of Ethiopian music and the creator of his own original music form, Ethio jazz. Through the acclaimed Ethiopiques album series and through featuring on the soundtrack to the Jim Jarmusch film 'Broken Flowers', his music has belatedly reached a global audience and a new, younger generation of fans. In November of 2018, he recorded an inspired album with London psych jazz band The Heliocentrics for Strut's 'Inspiration Information' studio collaboration series. Now, Strut are proud to present, for the first time anywhere, the definitive Mulatu career retrospective covering his landmark '60s and '70s recordings.
  • Track listing

    ⠀ Disc 1

    Track Track name Artist Time
    Track 1 Yekermo Sew Mulatu Astatke 4.13
    Track 2 I Faram Gami I Faram Mulatu Astatke 2.19
    Track 3 Shagu (Feat. The Mulatu Astatke Quartet) Mulatu Astatke 3.05
    Track 4 Emnete Mulatu Astatke 3.29
    Track 5 Mulatu Mulatu Astatke 5.01
    Track 6 Yegele Tezeta Mulatu Astatke 3.14
    Track 7 Asiyo Bellema Mulatu Astatke 2.52
    Track 8 Ebo Lala Mulatu Astatke 3.34
    Track 9 Fikratchin Mulatu Astatke 3.04
    Track 10 Yefikir Tizita Mulatu Astatke 3.53

    ⠀ Disc 2

    Track Track name Artist Time
    Track 1 Dewel Mulatu Astatke 4.13
    Track 2 Yekatit Mulatu Astatke 3.34
    Track 3 Girl from Addis Ababa (Feat. Ethiopian Quintet) Mulatu Astatke 3.49
    Track 4 Mascaram Setaba Mulatu Astatke 1.5
    Track 5 Ene Alantchie Alnorem Mulatu Astatke 4.59
    Track 6 Netsanet Mulatu Astatke 5.32
    Track 7 Kasalefkut Hulu Mulatu Astatke 2.42
    Track 8 Wubit (Feat. Muluken Melesse) Mulatu Astatke 5.31
    Track 9 Lanchi Biye (Feat. Tilahoun Gessesse) Mulatu Astatke 3.08
    Track 10 Tezeta Mulatu Astatke 6.13
  • Product Details

    No. of discs 2 disc(s)
    Format: Vinyl / 12" Album
    Label Strut
  • Delivery and Returns

    When will my order arrive?

    • If the items are in stock, we’ll aim to dispatch them within 24 hours of your order being placed. Due to the increased volumes of orders being received and the social distancing measures that our warehouse teams are following, there may be a slight delay with dispatching orders, and we thank you for your patience. 
    • Orders sent via Royal Mail 48® are usually received within two to five working days, including Saturdays. Due to current delays, please allow seven days for delivery.
    • Orders sent via the Royal Mail 24® service will be dispatched the same day if ordered by 2pm, Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays).
    • We will aim to dispatch pre-orders so that you receive them on the release date.
    • Where an item is 'Back in stock soon', we'll aim to receive more stock within a week and will dispatch any orders once the shipment has arrived.
    • Certain items can take longer to source than the estimated week, particularly during busy trading periods and may take longer to arrive at the warehouse. In this instance, we'll send weekly updates to keep you aware. 

    Delivery charges

    • Free delivery is available for most items when the order exceeds £20, but any exceptions will be clearly highlighted.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery via the Royal Mail 48® service and other items are available for delivery using this service for a charge.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery using Click & Collect to an hmv or FOPP store of your choice.
    • All delivery options and any charges that are applicable will be shown at the checkout.

    Will you tell me when my order is on its way?

    • We will email you as soon as each item is ready to be dispatched so you know when to expect them, but you can also check the status of your order in your account.
    • We don’t always ship everything together so check your dispatch email for more details - we’ll send you a dispatch email per parcel.
    • If your order contains items that are out of stock, we’ll ship the in-stock items as soon as we can and will dispatch the out-of-stock items as soon as we’ve received more stock in the warehouse
    • For items that are dispatched using our standard service, we ask that you wait 14 days from the date of dispatch before reporting any items as undelivered.


    • Due to current lockdown measures that are in place across the country, we have extended our returns policy and items ordered from October 2020 can be returned to us up until 30 days after our high street stores reopen.