We use cookies to ensure that we can give you the very best experience. To find out more about how we use cookies, please visit the cookie policy page.


Skip to content

Back to CD
Jess Gillam: Rise Jess Gillam


Barcode: 28948348626

  • Format: CD Album
  • Category: Classical
  • Released: 26th April 2019

There was an error adding this product to your basket. Please try again.

Sold out

Click & Collect

Get it delivered to a store near you with FREE click and collect available on this product.

Ring & Reserve

Can't wait to get your hands on this? Ring to reserve at your local store, subject to availability: 03333 230 667

  • Description

  • Track listing

  • Product Details

  • Delivery and Returns

  • Description

    Inspiring young classical saxophonist Jess Gillam presents her album 'Rise'. It is a collection of pieces which showcase her phenomenal talent and diverse musical taste, ranging from Marcello and Shostakovich to David Bowie and Kate Bush. Jess Gillam's album 'Rise' reflects her own musical journey and the pieces which have inspired her in her career. She recorded it with the BBC Concert Orchestra and chamber musicians, as well as celebrated guitarist Milos, who features on the track 'Flow My Tears' - a transcription of the familiar Renaissance lute song by John Dowland. The album includes beautiful cover versions of songs by two of Jess's biggest heroes: Kate Bush's ballad 'This Woman's Work' and David Bowie's timeless 'Where Are We Now?'. There are also familiar hits from the world of film, such as 'Closing in' by John Williams (as featured in Steven Spielberg's 2002 film 'Catch Me If You Can'), Michael Nyman's 'If' (from 'The Diary of Anne Frank') and the bonus track, Francis Lai's 'Theme From Love Story'. The recording also features two of Jess's signature pieces: 'Pequena Czarda' by Pedro Iturralde, which she played in BBC Young Musician 2016 wind category final, and Darius Milhaud's 'Brazileira' from 'Scaramouche', which she performed to great acclaim at the last night of the proms.
  • Track listing

    Track Track name Artist Time
    Track 1 Pequena Czarda Jess Gillam
    Track 2 This Woman's Work Jess Gillam
    Track 3 Je Ne T'aime Pas Jess Gillam
    Track 4 Brazileira Jess Gillam
    Track 5 Closing In Jess Gillam
    Track 6 If Jess Gillam
    Track 7 RANT! Jess Gillam
    Track 8 II. Adagio Jess Gillam
    Track 9 Flow My Tears Jess Gillam
    Track 10 Where Are We Now? Jess Gillam
    Track 11 Waltz No.2 (From 'Valses Nobles Et Sentimentales') Jess Gillam
    Track 12 Valse Vanite Jess Gillam
    Track 13 Dark Eyes Jess Gillam
    Track 14 Theme Jess Gillam
  • Product Details

    Duration 52.0 mins
    No. of discs 1 disc(s)
    Format: CD / Album
    Label Decca Classics
  • Delivery and Returns

    When will my order arrive?

    • If the items are in stock, we’ll aim to dispatch them within 24 hours of your order being placed, or the next working day if it’s a weekend or a public holiday.
    • Orders sent via our standard delivery service are usually received within two to five working days, including Saturdays. 
    • Orders sent via the Express Delivery service will be dispatched the same day if ordered by 2pm, Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays) for delivery within two working days, including Saturdays.
    • We will aim to dispatch pre-orders so that you receive them on the release date or as close to this as possible.

    Delivery charges

    • Free delivery is available for most items, but all exceptions will be clearly highlighted.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery via the Express Delivery service and other items are available for delivery using this service for a charge.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery using Click & Collect to a UK hmv or FOPP store of your choice.
    • All delivery options and any charges that are applicable will be shown at the checkout.

    Will you tell me when my order is on its way?

    • We will email you as soon as each item is ready to be dispatched so you know when to expect them, but you can also check the status of your order in your account.
    • We don’t always ship everything together so check your dispatch email for more details - we’ll send you a dispatch email per parcel.
    • If your order contains items that are out of stock, we’ll ship the in-stock items as soon as we can and will dispatch the out of stock items as soon as we’ve received more stock in the warehouse

    Click & Collect

    • This is a free service where items are delivered to an hmv or Fopp store of your choice. 
    • We will email you when the items are ready to be collected.
    • If you have ordered several items, we will email you to let you know which items have been dispatched. A further email will follow detailing the items that have arrived at your selected collection point and are ready for collection. Where possible, all items on an order will be dispatched and ready for collection together.
    • If any items are out-of-stock, we will dispatch these items when more stock arrives. We will email you when these items are ready to be collected.


    • We are happy to accept returns for unwanted items, provided they are returned within 14 days of receipt, unopened, unused and in perfect condition. 
    • Some exclusions apply, please visit our FAQs for further details.