We use cookies to ensure that we can give you the very best experience. To find out more about how we use cookies, please visit the cookie policy page.


Skip to content

At the Copa Sam Cooke


Released: Coming soon

Barcode: 18771862611

  • Format: Vinyl 12" Album
  • Category: R&B & Soul

There was an error adding this product to your basket. Please try again.

Released: Coming soon

Delivery to the UK only
Free UK delivery on orders over £20

Your order contains pre-orders Dispatched prior to release date
Click & Collect

We regret that Click and Collect to hmv stores is currently unavailable.

HubBox Click & Collect

We regret that HubBox Click and Collect is currently unavailable.

  • Description

  • Track listing

  • Product Details

  • Delivery and Returns

  • Description

    'At The Copa' reveals Sam Cooke's Copacabana performance with all of the nuance and passion that his adoring audience experienced in 1964. For those who never had a chance to hear Sam Cooke in person, this album affords the best seat in the house. Sam Cooke's set is a microcosm of his overall career insofar as it mirrored the artist's own eclecticism. Broadway, blues, folk, jazz, gospel and even country, and, of course, soul are represented on such tracks as 'Nobody Knows You When You're Down and Out', 'Frankie and Johnny', 'Try a Little Tenderness', and the hits 'Twistin' the Night Away', 'You Send Me' and '(I Love You) for Sentimental Reasons'. Of special note is Cooke's version of Bob Dylan's 'Blowin' in the Wind' that reflected the struggle for civil rights then underway. Dylan's song inspired Cooke to write his like themed masterpiece, 'A Change Is Gonna Come'.
  • Track listing

    Track Track name Artist Time
    Track 1 Opening Introduction Sam Cooke
    Track 2 The Best Things in Life Are Free Sam Cooke
    Track 3 Bill Bailey Won't You Please Come Home Sam Cooke
    Track 4 Nobody Knows You When You're Down and Out Sam Cooke
    Track 5 Frankie and Johnny Sam Cooke
    Track 6 Medley: Try a Little Tenderness/(I Love You) for Sentimental Reasons/You Send Me Sam Cooke
    Track 7 If I Had a Hammer Sam Cooke
    Track 8 When I Fall in Love Sam Cooke
    Track 9 Twistin' the Night Away Sam Cooke
    Track 10 This Little Light of Mine Sam Cooke
    Track 11 Blowin' in the Wind Sam Cooke
    Track 12 Tennessee Waltz Sam Cooke
  • Product Details

    No. of discs 1 disc(s)
    Format: Vinyl / 12" Album
    Label UMC
  • Delivery and Returns

    When will my order arrive?

    • If the items are in stock we’ll aim to dispatch them within 3 working days of your order being placed, or the next working day if it’s a weekend or a public holiday. Due to the increased volumes of orders being received and the social distancing measures that our warehouse teams are following, there may be a slight delay with dispatching orders and we thank you for your patience. 
    • Orders sent via Royal Mail 48 are usually received within two to five working days, including Saturdays. Due to current delays, please allow 7 days for delivery.
    • Orders sent via the Royal Mail Tracked 24® service will be dispatched the same day if ordered by 2pm, Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays).
    • We shall aim to dispatch pre-orders so that you receive them on the release date.

    Delivery charges

    • Free delivery is available for most items but all exceptions will be clearly highlighted.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery via the Royal Mail Tracked 24® service (International Tracked for non-UK orders) and some other items are available for delivery using this service for a charge.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery using Click & Collect to a UK hmv store of your choice.
    • All delivery options and any charges that are applicable will be shown at the checkout.

    Will you tell me when my order is on its way?

    • We will email you as soon as each item is ready to be dispatched so you know when to expect them, but you can also check the status of your order in your account.
    • We don’t always ship everything together so check your dispatch email for more details - we’ll send you a dispatch email per parcel.
    • If your order contains items that are out of stock, we’ll ship the in-stock items as soon as we can and will dispatch the out of stock items as soon as we’ve received more stock in the warehouse
    • For items that are dispatched using our standard service, we ask that you wait 14 days from the date of dispatch before reporting any items as undelivered.

    Click & Collect 

    • We regret that Click & Collect to hmv stores is currently unavailable.
    • We regret that Click & Collect to a HubBox Collect Point is currently unavailable.


    • We are happy to accept returns for unwanted items, provided they are returned within 14 days of receipt, unopened, unused and in perfect condition. Due to the recent health concerns, our returns policy has been extended and you'll now have until 14 days after our high street stores re-open to return unwanted items.
    • Some exclusions apply, please visit our FAQs  for further details.