Skip to content

Motown: A Symphony of Soul: With the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra (hmv Exclusive) Gold Vinyl The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra


Released: 18th February 2022

Barcode: 602438789337

  • Format: Vinyl 12" Album
  • Category: R&B & Soul
Click & Collect

Get it delivered to a store near you with FREE Click & Collect available on this product.

Ring & Reserve

Can't wait to get your hands on this? Ring to reserve at your local store, subject to availability: 03333 230 667

There was an error adding this product to your basket. Please try again.

Released: 18th February 2022

Delivery to the UK only
Free UK delivery on orders over £20

Your order contains pre-orders Dispatched prior to release date
  • Description

  • Track listing

  • Product Details

  • Delivery and Returns

  • Description

    Motown is one of the world's most important and iconic record labels, renowned for delivering an almost endless stream of global smash hits laden with glorious melodies and killer hooks that have continued to connect with every new generation. This 11 track album features some of Motown's best known and loved singles now reimagined with new orchestration by the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. Also included are some beautiful guest vocalist versions that sit alongside the original vocals laid down over 50 years ago. Beverley Knight joins Marvin Gaye on the seminal 'Abraham Martin & John' and Mica Paris joins Jimmy Ruffin on 'What Becomes Of The Broken Hearted'.
  • Track listing

    Track Track name Artist Time
    Track 1 Dancing in the Street (Martha Reeves & the Vandellas) The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
    Track 2 Reach Out I'll Be There (The Four Tops) The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
    Track 3 I Heard It Through the Grapevine (Marvin Gaye) The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
    Track 4 What Becomes of the Brokenhearted (Jimmy Ruffin With Mica Paris) The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
    Track 5 The Tears of a Clown (Smokey Robinson and the Miracles) The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
    Track 6 I'll Be There (The Jackson 5) The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
    Track 7 I Hear a Symphony (The Supremes) The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
    Track 8 Abraham & Martin John (Marvin Gaye With Beverley Knight) The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
    Track 9 My Girl (The Temptations) The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
    Track 10 Just My Imagination (The Temptation) The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
    Track 11 With You I'm Born Again (Billy Preston and Syreeta) The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Product Details

    No. of discs 1 disc(s)
    Format: Vinyl / 12" Album
    Label Island Records
  • Delivery and Returns

    When will my order arrive?

    • If the items are in stock, we’ll aim to dispatch them within 24 hours of your order being placed.  
    • Orders sent via Royal Mail 48® are usually received within two to five working days, including Saturdays. 
    • Orders sent via the Royal Mail 24® service will be dispatched the same day if ordered by 2pm, Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays).
    • We will aim to dispatch pre-orders so that you receive them on the release date.
    • Where an item is 'Back in stock soon', we'll aim to receive more stock within a week and will dispatch any orders once the shipment has arrived.
    • Certain items can take longer to source than the estimated week, particularly during busy trading periods and may take longer to arrive at the warehouse. In this instance, we'll send weekly updates to keep you aware. 

    Delivery charges

    • Free delivery is available for most items when the order exceeds £20, but any exceptions will be clearly highlighted.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery via the Royal Mail 48® service and other items are available for delivery using this service for a charge.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery using Click & Collect to an hmv or FOPP store of your choice.
    • All delivery options and any charges that are applicable will be shown at the checkout.

    Will you tell me when my order is on its way?

    • We will email you as soon as each item is ready to be dispatched so you know when to expect them, but you can also check the status of your order in your account.
    • We don’t always ship everything together so check your dispatch email for more details - we’ll send you a dispatch email per parcel.
    • If your order contains items that are out of stock, we’ll ship the in-stock items as soon as we can and will dispatch the out-of-stock items as soon as we’ve received more stock in the warehouse
    • For items that are dispatched using our standard service, we ask that you wait 14 days from the date of dispatch before reporting any items as undelivered.


    • We've extended our returns policy for the Christmas period to offer you more flexibility with your purchase. You can return items bought online at any time in November and December 2021 right up until Monday 31st January 2022, provided that they are returned unopened, unused, and in perfect condition.
    • New! FREE returns with InPost Lockers for items bought within November and December 2021 until 31st January 2022. Available 24/7 and no printing required. Find more information in our Help Centre.
    • Some exclusions apply, please visit our Help Centre for more details. 

Sign-up for emails

Sign-up for emails

Sign-up for emails

I'd love to hear about offers and promotions from hmv*