We use cookies to ensure that we can give you the very best experience. To find out more about how we use cookies, please visit the cookie policy page.


Skip to content

The Loop Shafiq Husayn


Barcode: 5050580712249

  • Format: Vinyl 12" Album
  • Category: R&B & Soul
  • Released: 17th May 2019

There was an error adding this product to your basket. Please try again.

Back in stock soon.

Delivery to the UK only
Free UK delivery on orders over £20

Usually despatched within 24 hours
Click & Collect

Get it delivered to a store near you with FREE click and collect available on this product.

Ring & Reserve

Can't wait to get your hands on this? Ring to reserve at your local store, subject to availability: 03333 230 667

  • Description

  • Track listing

  • Product Details

  • Delivery and Returns

  • Description

    LP by Los Angeles-based polymath Shafiq Husayn; an epic project which saw its inception in 2012 through a series of studio sessions at Shafiq's home, including collaborations with the likes of Thundercat, Erykah Badu, Flying Lotus, Bilal and Anderson .Paak. Amongst a close knit circle of friends and family the golden tones of 'The Loop' were created, deeply rooted in ideas of song, story, history, guidance and spirituality. The album bumps, jumps and jangles through progressions in jazz, hip hop, soul and funk, following on from his debut album 'Shafiq En' A-Free-Ka' and adding further to his rich history of timeless, unique music. On 'The Loop' past, present and future are brought together through a psychedelic concoction of time traveling drum machines, celestial string sections and trails of synthesiser vapour. Inflections of Sly Stone, Pharaoh Sanders and Earth Wind and Fire traverse with Marley Marl and Dilla-esqe drums making for an organic yet LA-trifying experience.
  • Track listing

    ⠀ Disc 1

    Track Track name Artist Time
    Track 1 Intro/The Flood Shafiq Husayn 4.15
    Track 2 May I Assume (Feat. Jimetta Rose & Fatima) Shafiq Husayn 4.37
    Track 3 My Story of Love/Starring You Shafiq Husayn 5.35
    Track 4 DMT (The Whill) Shafiq Husayn 3.07
    Track 5 Between Us 2 (Feat. Bilal) Shafiq Husayn 5.16
    Track 6 Mrs. Crabtree (Feat. Erykah Badu, N'Dambi & Aset SoSavvy) Shafiq Husayn 5.23
    Track 7 On Our Way Home (Feat. Fatima & Jimetta Rose) Shafiq Husayn 5.37
    Track 8 Walking Round Town Shafiq Husayn 3.19

    ⠀ Disc 2

    Track Track name Artist Time
    Track 1 Cycles (Feat. Hiatus Kaiotye) Shafiq Husayn 3.49
    Track 2 Message in a Bottle (Feat. Coultrain) Shafiq Husayn 3.36
    Track 3 It's Better for You (Feat. Anderson .Paak) Shafiq Husayn 4.13
    Track 4 Show Me How You Feel (Feat. Karen Be) Shafiq Husayn 4.55
    Track 5 Hours Away (Feat. Om'Mas Keith & Coultrain) Shafiq Husayn 4.38
    Track 6 Twelve (Feat. The Dove Society) Shafiq Husayn 4.12
    Track 7 Picking Flowers (Feat. El Sadiq) Shafiq Husayn 3.47
    Track 8 Optimystical (Feat. Robert Glasper) Shafiq Husayn 4.36
    Track 9 New Worlds Over (Feat. El Sadiq & Nanna B) Shafiq Husayn 4.41
  • Product Details

    No. of discs 2 disc(s)
    Format: Vinyl / 12" Album
    Label Eglo Records
  • Delivery and Returns

    When will my order arrive?

    • If the items are in stock, we’ll aim to dispatch them within 24 hours of your order being placed, or the next working day if it’s a weekend or a public holiday.
    • Orders sent via our standard delivery service are usually received within two to five working days, including Saturdays. 
    • Orders sent via the Express Delivery service will be dispatched the same day if ordered by 2pm, Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays) for delivery within two working days, including Saturdays.
    • We will aim to dispatch pre-orders so that you receive them on the release date or as close to this as possible.

    Delivery charges

    • Free delivery is available for most items, but all exceptions will be clearly highlighted.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery via the Express Delivery service and other items are available for delivery using this service for a charge.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery using Click & Collect to a UK hmv or FOPP store of your choice.
    • All delivery options and any charges that are applicable will be shown at the checkout.

    Will you tell me when my order is on its way?

    • We will email you as soon as each item is ready to be dispatched so you know when to expect them, but you can also check the status of your order in your account.
    • We don’t always ship everything together so check your dispatch email for more details - we’ll send you a dispatch email per parcel.
    • If your order contains items that are out of stock, we’ll ship the in-stock items as soon as we can and will dispatch the out of stock items as soon as we’ve received more stock in the warehouse

    Click & Collect

    • This is a free service where items are delivered to an hmv or Fopp store of your choice. 
    • We will email you when the items are ready to be collected.
    • If you have ordered several items, we will email you to let you know which items have been dispatched. A further email will follow detailing the items that have arrived at your selected collection point and are ready for collection. Where possible, all items on an order will be dispatched and ready for collection together.
    • If any items are out-of-stock, we will dispatch these items when more stock arrives. We will email you when these items are ready to be collected.


    • We are happy to accept returns for unwanted items, provided they are returned within 14 days of receipt, unopened, unused and in perfect condition. 
    • Some exclusions apply, please visit our FAQs for further details.